Annual Meeting 2019

Vestry and Diocesan Council Elections

Candidates for the 2023 election the Parish Nominating Committee

The Parish Nominating Committee hereby reports that the individuals listed below have been nominated to stand for election at The Church of St. John the Divine on Sunday, January 29, 2023. Six (6) persons shall be elected to the vestry of St. John the Divine for three-year terms to replace members whose terms have expired, and one (1) lay delegate shall be elected to the Council of the Diocese of Texas to serve a four-year term. These individuals have each consented to this nomination and have given assurance that if elected they will serve. Information on how and when to vote will be made available in the Sunday announcement card, the Grapevine, and on this page.

Submitted by, Theodore Gobillot
Senior Warden and Chair of the Nominating Committee

Voting Schedule

  • Electronic voting: Electronic voting will be available between January 22 at 8 am and January 29 at 6 pm. A link to an electronic ballot will be emailed to eligible members of the parish on Sunday, January 22 at 8 am.
  • Absentee Voting: Absentee voting will be available January 22 – 27.  Members may come to campus to cast their ballot via scantron at the reception desk. Absentee voting hours are Sunday, January 22, 9 am – 6 pm and Monday – Friday, January 23 – 27, 9 am – 5 pm
  • In-Person Voting: In-person voting will take place on Sunday, January 29. Voting will be available in the 8 am, 9 am, 9:15 am, 11:15 am & 5 pm services as well as during the Annual Meeting.

Voting results will be made available no later than January 31.

Information Booklet

The 2023 Voting Guide contains voting schedules as well as information about the nominees for the vestry and Diocesan Council Representative.

Download the VOTING GUIDE

The Nominees

Nominees for the 2023 class of the vestry of St. John the Divine (in random order)

Alicia Summers
Kate McGregor
Jon Palmer
Herschel Hamner
Jimmy Vaeth
Janet Peters
George Snyder
Philip Grove
Austin Jorn
Stefan Murry
Jenny Childers
Anne Philips

The current vestry of St. John the Divine

Nominees for Diocesan Council Representative (in random order)

Martim Gross
Nandini Kandolha

Persons sixteen years of age or older, who are active, baptized, enrolled, confirmed communicants in good standing of this Parish, are eligible to vote in parish elections.

SJD Campus

2450 River Oaks Boulevard, Houston, TX 77019 Map

(713) 622-3600 | infosjdorg